Kristine K. Murray Child Life Award and Scholarship

The Kristine K. Murray Child Life Award recognizes an exceptional child life specialist who demonstrates exemplary care and clinical skill with children in a procedural sedation environment and who actively contributes to the field of pediatric sedation through multidisciplinary collaboration. The recipient is awarded with complimentary SPS Annual Conference registration and a hotel room for 3 nights at the host hotel, plus up to $1,500 toward travel expenses.

Criteria for nomination:

  1. Certification as a Child Life Specialist
  2. Active participation in pediatric procedural sedation clinical care, modeling exemplary practice in safe, high quality child life care
  3. Leadership in promoting the core concepts of patient and family centered care in the procedural sedation environment
  4. Mentorship and education of other child life specialists and other disciplines in best practices for pediatric sedation care
  5. Active involvement in development and incorporation of evidence-based practice in pediatric sedation care
  6. Current membership and active participation in the Society for Pediatric Sedation®




Past Recipients
2023 Brianna Hampton, CCLS
2022 Lisa Wolff, CCLS
2021 Laura Gould, CCLS
2020 Katelyn Beyer, CCLS
2019 Jessica Brown, CCLS
2018 Jeff Dettore, CCLS
2017 Laura Mitchell, CCLS
2016 Kristine K. Murray, CCLS